Parris Award

Fiery Orange Medal Icon3The Parris Award was established by SouthWest Writers to honor a published writer who has given outstandingly of time and talent to other writers. Prestigious recipients of the Parris Award include Tony Hillerman and the Pulitzer nominee Norman Zollinger.

Named for the award’s sponsor, Parris Afton Bonds, a founding member of SouthWest Writers, this is a one-time award given to an SWW member who 1) has a significant published body of work, 2) a record of extraordinary effort in furthering the organization, and 3) a pattern of showing encouragement to other writers.

Past recipients are:

1987  Parris Afton Bonds
1988  Mary Lynn
1989  Norman Zollinger
1990  Eileen Stanton
1991  Paula Paul
1992  Lois Duncan
1993  Madge Harrah
1994  Jean Blackmon Waszak
1995  Tony Hillerman
1996  Elsie Karr Kreischer
1997  Suzanne Spletzer
1998  Joann Hamlin
1999  Suzanne Spletzer (won twice)
2000  Sue Bohannon Mann
2001  Suzi Little
2002  Larry W Greenly
2003  Lela Belle Wolfert
2004  Sandy Schairer
2005  David Corwell
2006  Rob Spiegel
2007  Loretta Hall
2008  Melody Groves
2009  Keith Pyeatt
2010  Jeanne Shannon
2011  Rick Reichman
2012  Joseph Badal
2015  Gail Rubin
2018  Sarah Baker
2020  Jacqueline Murray Loring


Sign Up for Elerts  Stay Connected

SWW YouTube Videos

Blog Post Categories

Follow Our Blog

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.


More information about SWW Programs can be found on WhoFish