Workshops

Fiery Orange Hands Icon

SouthWest Writers offers workshops to advance the skills and marketability of writers. Experienced instructors guide participants through lecture, example and, often, critique to increase the quality of their writing.

What is the difference between a workshop and a class? A workshop is one session, and any work required of the students is done during the workshop session. A class is more than one session and usually includes assignments to be completed outside of class.

See individual workshops for their location.


 

Saturday: Feb. 3, 2018   12:30 pm to 2:30 pm
Location: New Life Presbyterian Church
(after the regular Saturday meeting)
$20 Members, $25 Osher, $30 Non-member

Marc Calderwood

Celluloid Aspirations Redux

In this workshop we’ll discuss some novels and short stories that have made transitions to film and whether or not the cross-over worked and why. Tagging 10 screenplay issues that require the attention of the novelist and/or short story writer, I’ll define the primary issues that must be considered in a current work or those things that need to be considered prior to the start of a new piece. This working supplement to last month’s Celluloid Aspirations will give you the film industry viewpoint of character, setting, plot, conflict, resolution, and more. We will discuss and work on the one tool that will allow you to determine whether or not you have a good concept for film. We will cover briefly how to approach screenwriting and what to do if you’ve read a novel that you would like to turn into a screenplay.

Bio:

An award-winning screenwriter, Calderwood received his Certificate in Screenwriting from UCLA in 2007. In 2008 Marc made his writer/directorial/producer debut in the 48 Hour Film Project with the short Water Torture, an award-winning film. He’s been active as a reader for three top screenwriting sites and has read and given notes on over 300 spec screenplays.

Currently, Marc and his wife and live in Albuquerque where he writes screenplays teaches screenwriting classes privately and through UNM at OLLI. He works as a substitute teacher and in the summer he operates Hahn Youth Voices a summer film camp for local Native American students.


 

Saturday: March 3, 2018   12:30 pm to 2:30 pm
Location: New Life Presbyterian Church
(after the regular Saturday meeting)
$20 Members, $25 Osher, $30 Non-member

Chris Eboch

What I Learned from Nancy Drew—Tools for Fast-Paced Plotting

Nancy Drew’s adventures have captivated girls across generations. “Grab you by the throat” openings pull readers into the story. Cliffhanger chapter endings ensure late-night reading under the covers. Action-packed plots keep readers coming back for more. A ghostwriter shares what she learned while writing about the famous sleuth—and shows how you can use these techniques to make any story or book better, from narrative nonfiction to genre novels.

Chris Eboch is the author of over 50 books for children, including nonfiction and fiction, early reader through teen. Her novels for ages nine and up include The Eyes of Pharaoh, a mystery in ancient Egypt; The Well of Sacrifice, a Mayan adventure; The Genie’s Gift, a middle eastern fantasy; and the Haunted series, about kids who travel with a ghost hunter TV show, which starts with The Ghost on the Stairs. Her writing craft books include You Can Write for Children: How to Write Great Stories, Articles, and Books for Kids and Teenagers, and Advanced Plotting.

Chris also writes for adults under the name Kris Bock. Kris Bock writes action-packed romantic suspense involving outdoor adventures amidst Southwestern landscapes. Fans of Mary Stewart and Barbara Michaels will want to check out Kris Bock’s romantic adventures. “Counterfeits is the kind of romantic suspense novel I have enjoyed since I first read Mary Stewart’s Moonspinners.” 5 Stars – Roberta at Sensuous Reviews blog. Read excerpts at www.krisbock.com or visit her Amazon page.

Learn more at https://chriseboch.com/ or her Amazon page, or check out her writing tips at her Write Like a Pro! blog.


Pitch Your Novel Effectively

Presented by Kirt Hickman

Learn to write:

  • Elevator Pitches
  • Book Descriptions
  • Query Letters
  • Synopses

April 7, 2008 after the SWW Meeting

 Members: $20, Non-Members $30

Kirt Hickman, author of the award-winning science-fiction thrillers Worlds Asunder and Venus Rain was a technical writer for fourteen years before branching into fiction. His methodical approach to self-editing has helped many make sense of the mass of advice available to the novice writer.  He teaches self-editing classes through SouthWest Writers.  He has been a mentor in the SWW mentoring program, has spoken at numerous conferences, and has contributed a monthly column titled “Revising Fiction” to the SouthWest Sage. He has also written Mercury Sun, the fantasy novel Fabler’s Legend and two children’s books.  His writer’s guide, Revising Fiction—Making Sense of the Madness won a New Mexico Book award for Best How-To and was a finalist in the international Ben Franklin Awards.

 


Saturday: May 5 , 2018   12:30 pm to 2:30 pm
Location: New Life Presbyterian Church
(after the regular Saturday meeting)
$20 Members, $25 Osher, $30 Non-member

Sandra Toro

Historical Fiction


Saturday: June 2  , 2018   12:30 pm to 2:30 pm
Location: New Life Presbyterian Church
(after the regular Saturday meeting)
$20 Members, $25 Osher, $30 Non-member

Steve Brewer

WHERE’S THE FUNNY PART?

You can inject humor into any kind of writing, if you do it deftly enough, and Steve Brewer will show you how at this workshop. Steve has used humor in all sorts of writing over his 40-year career, including a decade of weekly “Home Front” columns for Scripps Howard News Service. He’ll talk about how to be funny on the page, and how to make the language do the comedic work for you. He’ll also bring exercises you can use to strengthen your funny bone.

BIO: Steve Brewer writes books about crooks. His most recent crime thriller SIDE EYE was his 30th published book. His first novel, LONELY STREET, was made into a 2009 Hollywood comedy. Steve spent 22 years in daily journalism before bailing out in 1997 to write fiction and humor full-time. To keep from dying of cabin fever, he leaves the house a couple times a week to teach at the Honors College at UNM.


Saturday: October 6, 2018 12:30 pm to 2:30 pm
Location: New Life Presbyterian Church
(after the regular Saturday meeting)
$20 Members, $25 Osher, $30 Non-member

Gerald Hausman

Spontaneous Writing

The workshop will explore the following writing techniques:

  • Using the style of the best mystery stories, we will shape a series of beginnings and endings that rivet a reader’s attention.
  • How to write a successful three line short story. How to write a one-line short story.
  • How to shape voice in such a way that whether you are writing in first person, second person or third person, your style remains the same.
  • How to write naturally in present tense, past tense, and future tense.
  • How to write an unconventional outline that works.

Gerald Hausman spent more than twenty years in New Mexico where many of his American Indian stories were collected and published. Born in Baltimore, Maryland in 1945, Hausman is a professional storyteller. He was poet in residence at Connecticut State College as well as the City of Pittsfield, Massachusetts. He taught writing at The Windsor Mountain School and Santa Fe Preparatory. Two of his children’s books were made into animated films, one of them sponsored by Bill and Melinda Gates and Pixar, the other by History Channel. A number of his books for adults and children have been translated into 10 foreign languages. In addition to his own writing Gerald is the editor of award-winning nonfiction and fiction titles published by Overlook-Viking, Simon & Schuster, HarperCollins, Dutton, Persea, Houghton Mifflin and others. He, his wife Loretta and author Alice Carney teach at the Green River Writers program in Las Vegas, New Mexico. The Hausmans edit for Irie Books which is dedicated to discovering new talent in literature. They have moved back to Santa Fe after many years of touring and doing workshops.

www.geraldhausman.com

 

 

 

 


Workshops you might have missed:2018

Creating time and place by creating language:  Writing with a sense of history by Jack Woodville London

2017

Connect to Your Intuitive Author Within
with Chloe Rachel Galloway
♦ Niche Markets:  Multiple Streams of Income
with Rose Marie Kern
♦ How to Create a Scene – Without Getting Arrested
with Melody Groves

♦The Perfect Pitch  with Rose Marie Kern, Melody Groves and Sarah Baker

2016

♦ The Artist’s Way Mini Intensive
with Kristen Fogle and Lydia Lea Real
♦ Outline for Success
with Gerald Hausman
♦ Blogging Your Way to Success
with Rob Speigel
♦ Books 101
with Barbe Awalt
♦ Adding Humor to Your Writing
with Steve Brewer
♦ Writing Great Dialogue: Listening to the Voices in Your Head
with Melody Groves
♦ How to Find Your Path and Follow it to Your Creative Destiny
with Sharon Niederman
♦ Making Your Fiction Shine with Cinematic Technique
with Joanne Bodin
♦ Writing from Photo to Finish
with Elizabeth Sloan
♦ Book Cover Design
with Michael Silva

2015

♦ Turning Fact into Fiction: Bending the Truth to Make it Fit
with Melody Groves
♦ What Has to Happen Before That Can Happen: Planning the Novel, Character- vs. Plot-driving, and Bringing it into the World
with Jack W. London
♦ How to Plot: Every Good Story Needs One
with Melody Groves
♦ Write What You Don’t Know
with Mark Stevens
♦ Giving Voice to the People in Your Head
with Sarah H. Baker
♦ Websites for Writers
with Loretta Hall

2014

♦ Getting Around Beginner’s Bumps
with Sarah Baker
♦ Write a Marketable Children’s Book in 7 Weeks
with Shirley Raye Redmond and Jennifer McKerley
♦ What a Writing Group Can Accomplish (Synergy)
with Patricia Walkow and Jim Tritten
♦ A Gathering for Picture Book Critique
with Betsy James
♦ Websites for Writers
with Loretta Hall
♦ An Introduction to Crime Scene Investigation for Writers
with Debra Falcon


Workshop and Class Refund Policy

To ensure that SouthWest Writers can cover the cost of space rental and instructor fees, we have implemented a workshop and class refund policy. If you cancel one week before the workshop or class beginning date you will receive a full refund. Cancellations after one week prior up to 24 hours prior to the beginning of the workshop or class will receive a credit only toward a future workshop or class of your choice. If you do not cancel or don’t show up for the workshop or class you will receive no refund and no credit. For multi-session classes, if you miss a class, you receive no refund. We pay our instructors based on how many students enroll, so you are part of that roll count if you don’t cancel as detailed above.

If you have any questions or want to let us know what classes or workshops you’d like to have offered, please e-mail the workshop coordinator at SWWriters@juno.com.


Categories

Support SWW

Make A Donation


bookworksLogo


Search Now:  
amazon search

SouthWest Writers receives a commission on all books ordered via Amazon.

Follow Our Blog

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.