Annual Writing Contest


2014 Contest Winners Announced

The 32nd annual contest resulted in significant achievements: literary agents requested contact information for four of our contestants.

Contest winners hail from Alaska, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Maryland, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oklahoma, Texas, Washington state, and the United Kingdom.

First Place Winners:

Colleen De Maio, Van Nuys, California, Literary/Mainstream Novel, The Myth of Wile E.
Thomas Fox, West Orange, New Jersey, Children’s Picture Book, Levi and the Heavy Hat
Barbara Gold, Stamford, Connecticut, Young Adult/Juvenile Novel, Weed Whackers
Phyllis Hoge, Albuquerque, New Mexico, Poetry, “Quanfu”
Orly Konig-Lopez, Gaithersburg, Maryland, Women’s Fiction, Healing Hoofbeats
Stephen Merlino, Seattle, Washington, Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror Short Story, “Outside the Game”
Elizabeth Rose, Galisteo, New Mexico, Essay, “He Saw an Eagle”
Liese Sherwood-Fabre, Lewisville, Texas, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller/Adventure Novel,
A Botanical Blunder

Jan Smith, Taos, New Mexico, Creative Nonfiction/Memoir, Blink Like Crazy
Marrie Stone, Laguna Beach, California, Literary/Mainstream Short Story, “Aviculture”

Second Place Winners:

Maralie BeLonge, Albuquerque, New Mexico, Literary/Mainstream Novel, Flight Patterns
Jennifer Bohnhoff, Albuquerque, New Mexico, Young Adult/Juvenile Novel, Elephants on the Moon
Dee Dee Chumley, Edmond, Oklahoma, Essay, “Passion Redefined”
Catherine Ferguson, Galisteo, New Mexico, Poetry, “Bequest”
Linda Michel-Cassidy, Arroyo Seco, New Mexico, Literary/Mainstream Short Story, “The Tides Were Within Him”
Christopher Murray, Olympia, Washington, Creative Nonfiction/Memoir, Unusual Punishment
Elizabeth Nix, Aspen, Colorado, Women’s Fiction, Silver Cup
Donna Turello, Staten Island, New York, Children’s Picture Book, The Red Beret
KL Wagoner, Albuquerque, New Mexico, Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror Short Story, “Moatkeeper”
Elle Wild, Wiltshire, United Kingdom, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller/Adventure Novel, Strange Things Done

Third Place Winners:

Stacy Jensen, Colorado Springs, Colorado, Children’s Picture Book, Never Feed the Humans
K. Kitts, Placitas, New Mexico, Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror Short Story, “The Oppression of Astonishment”
Judith Logan, Highlands Ranch, Colorado, Women’s Fiction, Tap Dancing on a Spider Web
Sharon MaHarry, Ojai, California, Creative Nonfiction/Memoir, Crazy Mama
Catherine North, Manchester, United Kingdom, Literary/Mainstream Novel, Angels
Amanda Searcy, Albuquerque, New Mexico, Young Adult/Juvenile Novel, Adrift
Andy Simmons, Seattle, Washington, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller/Adventure Novel, Days of the Dead
Stefanie Tatalias, Anchorage, Alaska, Literary/Mainstream Short Story, “Cigarettes and Buddha”
Linda Yen, Albuquerque, New Mexico, Poetry, “Shadows”

(Click here for the list of winners by category and place standing.)


0 comments on “Annual Writing Contest
3 Pings/Trackbacks for "Annual Writing Contest"
  1. […] won awards for her scripts since 2007, including first place in the screenplay category of the 2010 SouthWest Writers Annual Writing Competition. Active in the workings of ReelFlicks Productions and T-RO Films, she is currently in […]

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Support SWW

Make A Donation


Search Now:  
amazon search

SouthWest Writers receives a commission on all books ordered via Amazon.