2010 Winners

Storyteller Award Winner

Charles Greaves, Hush Money,
Mystery/Suspense/Thriller/Adventure Novel

1. Mainstream or Literary Novel (68 Entries)

1st Place: Sandra Hunter, Leaving to Come Home, Woodland Hills, CA

2nd Place:Steve Gardner, Winter Rye, Lockhart, TX

3rd Place: Susan Salluce Shingle, Out of Breath, Springs, CA

Judge: Gabe Robinson, HarperCollins, New York, New York

2. Mystery/Suspense/Thriller/Adventure Novel (64 Entries)

1st Place: Charles Greaves, Hush Money, Santa Fe, NM

2nd Place: John Taylor, Land of a Thousand Dances, Rio Vista, CA

3rd Place: A. P. Greenwood, Navfac, Houston, TX

Judge: Thomas Colgan, Penguine Group USA, New York, New York

3. Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror Novel (27 Entries)

1st Place: Jennifer Martin, The Spirit Guides: An Insider’s Look at the Afterlife, Peoria, IL

2nd Place: Paul Kippert, Savior, Santa Fe, NM

3rd Place: David DeLee, Stede Bonnet, Amherst, NH

Judge: Linn Prentis, Linn Prentis Agency, New York, New York

4. Historical Fiction (38 Entries)

1st Place: Charles Greaves, Hard Twisted, Santa Fe, NM

2nd Place: JimDuggins, Slave Stealer, Rancho Mirage, CA

3rd Place: Elizabeth Rose, Hugh’s Footprint, Galisteo, NM

Judge: Jessica Papin, Dystel and Goderich Literary Management, New York, New York

5. Middle Grade/Young Adult Novel (49 Entries)

1st Place: Kathleen Cherry, Everyday Heroine, Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada

2nd Place: Laura Cumbie, Lucky, Peachtree City, GA

3rd Place: Lisa French, The Year in the Tent, Amarillo, TX

Judge: Elizabeth Evans, The Jean V. Naggar Literary Agency, New York, New York

6. Memoir Book (32 Entries)

1st Place: Shanti Elke Bannwart, Dancing on One Foot, Santa Fe, NM

2nd Place: Margaret Porter Larson, Lightning, Blood & Ink: Essential Elements for a Wiser Woman,Laredo, TX

3rd Place: Marguerite Kearns, Warning: Persons Procuring or Concealing Escape of Prisoners Are Subject to Prosecution and Imprisonment, Santa Fe, NM

Judge: Jon Sternfeld, The Irene Goodman Literary Agency, New York, New York

7. Memoir Article (41 Entries)

1st Place: Peggy Spencer, Stillborn, Albuquerque, NM

2nd Place: Lisa Cerasoli, You’re So Nice, Marquette, MI

3rd Place: Deborah Hunter, Kevin’s Posse, Tulsa, OK

Judge: Rebecca McGill, Phoebe, A Journal of Literature & Art, Fairfax, Virginia

8. Mainstream or Literary Short Story (92 Entries)

1st Place: Penelope Stowell, Street Legal, Pagosa Springs, CO

2nd Place: Robert Schladale, Equalizing the Pressure, Sacramento, CA

3rd Place: Elena Sanchez, When I Die, Albuquerque, NM

Judge: Chris Cottrell, The Portland Review, Portland, Oregon

9. Nonfiction Essay or Article (12 Entries)

1st Place: Robert Schenck, Jr., MD, The Magic Christian, Corrales, NM

2nd Place: Henry Finney, The Scent of Ponderosa Pines, Los Alamos, NM

3rd Place: Larry Greenly, Stalking the Ethereal Wasabi, Albuquerque, NM

Judge: Leigh Ann Henion, Cold Mountain Review, Boone, North Carolina

10. Personal Essay/Column (18 Entries)

1st Place: Stephanie Nakhleh, ¡Seamos Amigos!, Albuquerque, NM

2nd Place: Carol Penn-Romine, Latchkey Spiders and Other Improbable Things, Burbank, CA

3rd Place: Murray Edwards, Easter Photo, Clyde, TX

3rd Place: Karen Keese, Moon in the Balance, Los Lunas, NM

Judge: Kathleen Struck, GlobalPost.com, Concord, Massachusetts

11. Nonfiction Book (11 Entries)

1st Place: Brian Frieder, How to Reform Our Public Schools in Six Years, Los Ranchos, NM

2nd Place: Larry Greenly, Eugene Bullard, Albuquerque, NM

3rd Place: Lulynne Streeter, Frozen Lives, Seabrook, TX

Judge: Marjorie Preston, Sheree Bykofsky Associates, Brigantine, New Jersey

12. Children’s Picture Book (Fiction or Nonfiction) (44 Entries)

1st Place: Amanda Huneke, Monster on the Loose, New Bern, NC

2nd Place: Rebeca Colby, The Mousequerade, Harrogate, United Kingdom

3rd Place: Monica Harris, The Magician’s Physician, Kalamazoo, MI

Judge: Paul Abdo, Abdo Publishing Group, Edina, Minnesota

13. Screenplay (29 Entries)

1st Place: Mary Haarmeyer, Daggers Draw, Lovington, NM

2nd Place: Susan Murphy, The Lion in the Backyard, Cerrillos, NM

3rd Place: Chip Casner, Poor August, Flagstaff, AZ

Judge: Tim Lambert, Abbot Screenplay Management, Pasadena, California

14. Poetry (159 Entries)

1st Place: Catherine Ferguson, The Mona Lisa, Galisteo ,NM

2nd Place: Catherine Ferguson, Vale mas tarde que nunca, Galisteo, NM

3rd Place: Karen McKinnon, Leaving, Sandia Park, NM

Judge: Lisa Lewis, Cimarron Review, Stillwater, Oklahoma

0 comments on “2010 Winners
1 Pings/Trackbacks for "2010 Winners"
  1. […] I even resubmitted the same piece but with a different title. (As Hugh’s Footprint, the book won 3rd place in the Historical Fiction category of the 2010 SWW annual contest, and in 2012, Poet Under a […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Sign Up for Elerts  Stay Connected

SWW YouTube Videos

Search Posts


More information about SWW Programs can be found on WhoFish.